Celebrating Janesis – An Efya Masterpiece Of An Album

efya photo via braperucci
Efya is a Ghanaian singer and songwriter (photo via braperucci)

Hello to all Gingams out there… you know yourselves…

Yesterday was a big day for all of us and our queen, E, to the F, to the Y, to the A – EFYA – you know the name right?

Just in case you need a reminder, yesterday was five years since Efya released her debut solo studio album, “Janesis”.

That album belonged to all her fans just us it was her own.


April 22, 2016 was a big day for her and every Gingam both at home and abroad, because that was the day she really stepped into herself and really said goodbye to Jane the musician.

Since Efya released Janesis, she hasn’t looked back and it has been a continuous upward climb for her.

For an album that was released five years ago, some of the songs on the 22-track list project are still banging.

Also, some of the songs on the album were released as singles years before the album was released.

Case in point, “Forgetting Me” was released on January 11, 2014, two years ahead of the album and still bangs today.

It’s just a true testament to the power of Efya and how she is a truly talented artist.

image via Instagram @efya_nokturnal

With 22 songs and more than an hour of full playtime, the Janesis album contained numerous love songs such as ‘Jorley’ featuring Sarkodie, ‘Heartbeat’ featuring EL, among others.

The album also explored topical nemesis to ‘love’ which are hate and pain.

The Janesis album was really a musical expression of who Efya is as she once said in an interview that the album draws a lot from her own personal experiences.

Since most of the songs are not on Efya’s official YouTube channel, here is a list of some of the songs we’re are still singing along to whenever and wherever they are played:

  1. Can I
  2. Sometimes
  3. Jorley featuring Sarkodie
  4. One of Your Own featuring Bisa Kdei
  5. Life
  6. Gingam Too Much
  7. Forgetting Me
  8. Hele Mi featuring Stonebwoy
  9. I Try
  10. Ooh Ooh Ooh featuring Mugeez

There are 12 more diamonds on that album and you can stream the entire album on Deezer.

Source: Kuulpeeps.com

Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here