Ronaldo, Lewandowski And Messi Named Finalists For The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2020

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski

FIFA has announced that Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo, Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski are the three finalists for The Best FIFA Men’s Player.

On November 25, a shortlist of 11 players was unveiled for the prize, with the Bayern striker leading the charge after a prolific campaign in which he led his club to a treble amid a flurry of goals.

image via Twitter/ChampionsLeague

Since then, however, Kevin De Bruyne, Sadio Mane, Kylian Mbappe, Neymar, Sergio Ramos, Mohamed Salah, Thiago Alcantara and Virgil van Dijk have all dropped out of the running.

That leaves Lewandowski up against two former winners.

Ronaldo claimed the prize in both 2016 and 2017, when he dominated the voting after leading Real Madrid to successive Champions League trophies. Since then, however, he has completed a switch to Italy with Juventus, though he remains as prolific a scorer.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo (image via Sports India Show)

Messi, meanwhile, is the reigning holder of the prize but is widely regarded to have had a disappointing year by his standards amid a turbulent period for his Barcelona side.

The winner will be announced on December 17.

See Also: Football Fans Sympathize With Lewandowski After 2020 Ballon d’Or Cancellation

source: Goal

Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here