Erling Haaland Wins 2020 Golden Boy Award

Erling Haaland (photo: Getty Images)

Borussia Dortmund striker Erling Haaland has won the 2020 Golden Boy Award for his stunning exploits.

The award, presented by Italian newspaper Tuttosport and won by Joao Felix last year, is given to the best player aged 21 or under from a top-tier league in Europe.

Haaland – the leading contender – graced Saturday’s front page of Tuttosport, beating the likes of Dortmund team-mate Jadon Sancho, Bayern Munich’s Alphonso Davies, Manchester United forward Mason Greenwood and Barcelona sensation Ansu Fati to the award.

Erling Haaland celebrating after scoring stoppage-time winner for Borussia Dortmund (image via Twitter/@BlackYellow)

Haaland scored 44 goals across all competitions in 2019/20 – 16 of those coming in 18 appearances after a mid-season move from Austrian champions Salzburg to Bundesliga outfit Borussia Dortmund.

Among all Bundesliga players last season to have scored at least 10 goals, only Bayern star Robert Lewandowski (81.2) had a better minutes-per-goal record than Haaland (81.7).

Haaland has six goals in as many Bundesliga appearances for last season’s runners-up Dortmund this term.

The 20-year-old has found the back of the net four times through three Champions League fixtures in 2020/21, taking his tally to 11 goals from 11 matches across all competitions.

See Also:

Quiz: How Well Do You Know Lionel Messi And Cristiano Ronaldo

2020 NBA Draft: The Eight Players With Nigerian Heritage Who Were Picked

source: Goal

Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here