These Nigeria Footballers Have Relentlessly Supported The #EndSARS Campaign

Victor Osimhen displayed a shirt with #EndPoliceBrutality In Nigeria written on it after scoring his first goal for Napoli

Protests against police brutality is still ongoing in Nigeria as Nigerian youth are unabatedly marching in streets across the country and demanding for a reformation of the Nigeria Police Force.

The protests started after officers of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS), a unit of the Nigeria Police Force were accused of extortion, harassment, abuse and murder of citizens.

The protests also caught the attention of the international community as prominent people like Jack Dorsey, Kanye West, Diddy, Drake, Big Sean, Trey Songz, John Boyega and Estelle also joined the #EndSARS campaign on social media.

The Nigerian government were forced by the protests to dissolve SARS across the West African country. However, a few days after dissolving SARS, the government announced that a new unit named Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) will replace SARS.

The setting up of a new unit to replace SARS did not stop Nigerians from protesting, as they believe that the creation of SWAT will not end police brutality in the country, hence their demand for a reformation of the Nigeria Police Force.

Amid all these protests, there are some Nigeria footballers who have remained committed to the fight against police brutality in their country even though they are plying their trade abroad.

The likes of Odion Ighalo, Victor Osimhen, Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi, John Ogu and Asisat Oshoala have been active in the fight against police brutality.

These Nigeria footballers constantly use their social media pages to demand an end to police brutality in Nigeria.

Here are the Nigeria footballers who have actively participated in the #EndSARS Campaign:

Odion Ighalo (Manchester United)

Victor Osimhen (Napoli)

Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City)

Alex Iwobi (Everton)

John Ogu (Al-Adalah FC)

Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Femení)

Leon Balogun (Rangers)

Shehu Abdullahi (AC Omonia)

William Troost-Ekong (Watford)

Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF)

Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City)

Ahmed Musa (Al-Nassr)

Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganés)


Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here