Here’s The Final Shortlist For The 2020 Golden Boy Award

Borussia Dortmund's Erling Haaland and Jadon Sancho (Getty Images)

The final shortlist for the 2020 Golden Boy award has been announced.

The 20-man shortlist includes Borussia Dortmund’s Jadon Sancho and Erling Haaland, who are considered by many pundits as the front runners for the award.

Sancho came second in the 2019 edition while Haaland came in fourth.

The list also includes Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Ansu Fati (Barcelona), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United) and Eduardo Camavinga (Rennes).

The Golden Boy award is given to the most impressive young footballer playing in Europe during a calendar year. All nominees are under the age of 21.

Tuttosport, an Italian sports newspaper, came up with the award in 2003. The first player to win it was Dutch midfielder Rafael van der Vaart.

Other winners of the award include Lionel Messi (2005), Mario Balotelli (2010), Paul Pogba (2013), and Kylian Mbappe (2017).

The award was last won by Atletico Madrid and Portugal forward João Félix.

Golden Boy 2020 final shortlist:

Mitchel Bakker – PSG

Eduardo Camavinga – Rennes

Jonathan David – Lille

Alphonso Davies – Bayern Munich

Sergino Dest – Barcelona

Fábio Silva  – Wolverhampton 

Ansu Fati – Barcelona 

Phil Foden – Manchester City

Ryan Gravenberch – Ajax

Erling Haaland – Borussia Dortmund

Mason Greenwood – Manchester United 

Callum Hudson-Odoi – Chelsea 

Bukayo Saka  – Arsenal 

Dejan Kulusevski  – Juventus

Rodrygo – Real Madrid

Jadon Sancho – Borussia Dortmund

Dominik Szoboszlai – Red Bull Salzburg 

Sandro Tonali  – Milan

Ferrán Torres  – Manchester City

Vinícius Junior – Real Madrid


Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here