#UCLDraw: All That Happened At The Ceremony

Thomas Muller lifts the UEFA Super Cup trophy (image via Twitter/FCBayernEN)

Earlier today, the group stage draw for the 2020/2021 UEFA Champions League campaign took place in Zurich, Switzerland. The draw with was conducted by former Chelsea teammates Florent Malouda and Drogba, saw some very fascinating groupings and right from the group stages we will be witnessing some very heavy European football clashes.

For the first time, UEFA awarded the women’s Goalkeeper of the year and other awards were introduced. The women’s goalkeeper of the year went to Lyons Sarah Bouhaddi. Manuel Neuer won the Men’s goalkeeper of the year. The men’s and women’s defender of the season was won by Joshua Kimmich and Wendy Renard respectively. Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Lyon’s Dzsenifer Marozsan picked up the Men’s and women’s midfielder. Robert Lewandowski and Pernille Harder also picking up the Men’s and Women’s forwards of the year.

As part of the ceremony, the UEFA men’s and women’s player of the year and men’s and women’s coach of the year was announced. Pernille Harder won the women’s player of the year and Robert Lewandowski took the Men’s player of the year while Hans-Dieter Flick picked up the Men’s coach of the year award. . Jean-Luc Vasseur Picked up the women’s coach of the year being the first to win the award.

 Former Chelsea forward Didier Drogba won the UEFA President award for 2020, making him the first non-European player to win the award. 

This is how the grouping went.

Group A

  1. FC Bayern Munchen
  2. Atletico de Madrid
  3. FC Salzburg
  4. Locomotive Moscow

Group B

  1. Real Madrid FC
  2. Shakhtar Donetsk FC
  3. FC International
  4. Borussia Monchengladbach

Group C

  1. FC Porto
  2. Manchester City FC
  3. Olympiacos FC
  4. Olympic Marseille FC

Group D

  1. Liverpool FC
  2. Ajax FC
  3. Atlanta FC
  4. FC Midtjyland

Group E

  1. Sevilla FC
  2. Chelsea FC
  3. FC Krasnodar
  4. Stade Rennis FC

Group F

  1. FC Zenit
  2. Borussia Dortmund
  3. Lazio FC
  4. Club Brugge

Group G

  1. Juventus
  2. Barcelona FC
  3. FC Dynamo Kiev
  4. Ferencvarosi TC

Group H

  1. PSG
  2. Manchester United FC
  3. RB Leipzig
  4. Instanbul Basaksehir 

First round of group matches will be played on the 20/21 of October.

Source: Kuulpeeps.com

Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here