Mfantsipim’s On And Off Relationship With The National Science And Maths Quiz

Mfantsipim studenting watching the NSMQ contest.

There is no doubt that Mfanstipim School, also known as Kwabotwe or simply Botwe, is one of the best Senior High Schools in the country.

There is a 144-year history behind the school’s pursuit of excellence in education the country.

They have produced some of the best leaders for more than a century in fields such as politics, academics, engineering, business, medicine, film, religion, and even in sports.

Case in points are Joseph W.S. de-Graft Johnson, Kwesi Amissah-Arthur who were both Vice Presidents of Ghana, R. P. Baffour – the first Vice-Chancellor of KNUST, Boakye Agyarko – former Vice President of the Bank of New York, Kobina Arku Korsah – the first Ghanaian Chief Justice of Ghana, Derek Boateng – former Black Stars player among many others.

Though there is without a doubt that the school attracts the best and brightest students, it has, however, not had a good run at the National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ).

As the same suggests, NSMQ challenges its contests to provide solutions to a number of maths and science questions. It is run as a tournament where participating schools go through various rounds of elimination until the last three remaining schools battle it out in a finale to be named the champion for the year.

As one of the best science schools in the country, one would assume they would be very successful at the NSMQ.

If for anything, Mfantsipim has had more disappointing runs at NSMQ competitions than they have been glorious.

The NSMQ has been in existence since 1994, and in 2010 and 2011 no competitions were held – meaning there have been 24 competitions so far, including the current 2020 competition.

Out of those 24 competitions, Mfantsipim has competed in all but it had been champions only twice.

In 1999, Mfanstipim won its first NSMQ trophy after 5 years of the competition. In those five years, Prempeh College had won it twice, first in 1994 (they were the first school to win an NSMQ trophy) and in 1996.

It would take Mfantsipim 12 more annual NSMQ competitions before they would win the trophy again in 2014.

Between 1999 and 2014 that Mfantsipim won the NSMQ, the Presbyterian Boys’ Legon (PRESEC) had won the trophy four times, two of which were back to back in 2008 and 2009.

Now in 2020, Mfatsipim has been beaten at the 1/8th stage of the NSMQ by Kumasi Academy, a school that by all accounts does not come close to the great Mfanstipim academic history.

Maybe, it’s safe to assume that the tides are changing and we should expect more impressive academic talents from beyond legacy schools.


Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here