Ayawaso West Wuogon: The University Of Ghana And The Parliamentary Aspirants

Lydia Alhassan and John Dumelo

The University of Ghana, as an academic institution, is an important part of the Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency.

The institution also has a huge influence on the outcome of parliamentary elections in the constituency, and parliamentary aspirants over the years put in a lot of effort to win the votes of the students.

Since 1992, there have been 6 different MPs in the Awayaso West Wuogon constituency:

  • Francis Napoleon K. Kumah (National Convention Party) – 1992
  • Mrs Rebecca Akweley Adotey (National Democratic Congress) – 1996
  • George Isaac Amoo (New Patriotic Party) – 2000
  • Akosua Frema Osei-Opare (New Patriotic Party) – 2004
  • Emmanuel Kyeremanteng Agyarko (New Patriotic Party) – 2012 and 2016
  • Lydia Seyram Alhassan (New Patriotic Party) – 2019

For the 2020 elections, the main contenders for the Ayawaso West Wuogon seat are Lydia Seyram Alhassan and John Dumelo.

Before school activities were suspended due to COVID-19, both Lydia and John were actively involved in everything concerning the University of Ghana.

They visited the university frequently to participate, sponsor or chair activities involving students.

Lydia Seyram Alhassan with some students of the University of Ghana:


John Dumelo with some students of the University of Ghana:

It will, however, be very interesting to see the aspirant who will gain the most votes from the university and also win the seat.

In the meantime, here’s what you need to know about the main contenders for the Ayawaso West Wuogon parliamentary seat:

Lydia Seyram Alhassan


Lydia Seyram Alhassan is the incumbent Member of Parliament for the Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency.

She was elected by the New Patriotic Party (NPP) to contest the 2019 Ayawaso West Wuogon Constituency by-election, following the death of her husband Emmanuel Kyeremanteng Agyarko.

Lydia Alhassan decided to contest the seat to continue from where her late husband left off.

She won the by-election by a landslide victory, gaining 12,041 votes representing 68.30%, and was sworn-in as MP in February 2020.

In January 2020, the National Council of the NPP announced that Lydia Alhassan will run unopposed in the primaries because she had, at the time, held the office as MP for the constituency for only a year.

And in June 2020, she was confirmed as the NPP’s parliamentary candidate for the Ayawaso West Constituency.

Lydia Alhassan holds an MBA in Marketing from the University of Ghana Business School, Legon and Bachelor of Administration degree from Ghana the Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA).

John Setor Dumelo


John Dumelo affirmed his political ambitions in 2016, when he was seen actively campaigning for the National Democratic Congress (NDC) ahead of the general elections.

He was appointed, in 2016, as Operations Director for ‘Agenda for Mahama’ a pro-NDC youth group that focuses on campaigning for John Dramani Mahama mainly at the grass-root level to propagate achievements of the NDC administration.

In December 2018, Dumelo withdrew from contesting in the Ayawaso West Wuogon primaries of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), which sought to elect an aspirant for the party to contest in the January 2019 by-election.

That by-election was won by Lydia Alhassan.

In July 2019, John Dumelo announced his intention to run for the Ayawso West Wuogon parliamentary seat after picking forms to contest the NDC parliamentary primaries.

On August 24, 2019, he won the NDC parliamentary primaries to become the party’s parliamentary candidate in the Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency in the 2020 general elections.

Aside being a politician, John Dumelo is also an award-winning actor and entrepreneur.

He’s an alumnus of Achimota School and Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology.

source: kuulpeeps.com

Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here