Ja Morant Wins 2019/20 NBA Rookie Of The Year

Ja Morant received 99 first-place votes and 498 total points to win the award

Memphis Grizzlies’ Ja Morant has been named the 2019/20 Kia NBA Rookie of the Year.

The 6-foot-3 guard is the second player to win the Rookie of the Year Award with the Grizzlies, joining Pau Gasol (2001-02).

Morant received 99 first-place votes from a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters and earned 498 total points.

Miami Heat guard Kendrick Nunn finished in second place with 204 points. New Orleans Pelicans forward Zion Williamson received one first-place vote and finished in third place with 140 points.
Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

The voting was conducted based on regular-season games played through March 11. The seeding games, which were played July 30 – August 14 as part of the season restart, did not count toward voting for the Kia NBA Rookie of the Year Award or the league’s other traditional end-of-season awards.

See Also:

Raptors’ Nick Nurse Wins 2019/20 NBA Coach Of The Year

Giannis Antetokounmpo Wins 2019/20 NBA Defensive Player Of The Year

source: NBA

Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here