City Football Group: All The Clubs Man City’s Parent Company Owns & Part-Owns

The Etihad Stadium, where Manchester City plays its home games (Jon Super/EPA, via Shutterstock)

City Football Group (CNG), the parent company of Manchester City, has purchased a majority stake in French Ligue 2 side Troyes.

City Football Group acquired the shares of Troyes President Daniel Masoni to take over the club. However, French businessman Maxime Ray will own a minority stake and sit on the club’s board.

Troyes, who won the Intertoto Cup in 2001, were fourth in Ligue 2 last season before the 2019/20 campaign was suspended because of the coronavirus pandemic.

With the purchase of Troyes, City Football Group now owns and part-owns 10 clubs.

CFG owns clubs in ten different countries namely England, France, Spain, Belgium, USA, Australia, India, Japan, Uruguay and China

Here are the other nine clubs owned by City Football Group:

Manchester City (England)

Manchester City was founded in 1880. It was purchased by Abu Dhabi United Group (which own 78% shares of the City Football Group) in 2008 for £210 million.

Manchester City

Girona FC (Spain)

Girona FC was founded on July 23, 1930. The City Football Group purchased 44.3% ownership in Girona FC 2017.

Girona FC

New York City FC (United States)

New York City FC was founded on May 21, 2013. The City Football Group owns 80% of the club.

New York City FC

Melbourne City FC (Australia)

Melbourne City FC was founded in 2009 as Melbourne Heart. It was acquired and subsequently rebranded in 2014 by the City Football Group (CFG), in partnership with Holding M.S. Australia.

In August 2015, City Football Group bought out the Holding M.S. Australia consortium to acquire 100% ownership of the club.

Melbourne City FC

Mumbai City FC (India)

Mumbai City FC was founded on August 30, 2014. The City Football Group has 65% ownership of the club.

Mumbai City FC

Yokohama F. Marinos (Japan)

Yokohama F. Marinos was founded 1972. On 20 May 2014, it was announced that City Football Group had invested in a minority share of Yokohama F. Marinos, creating a partnership with majority shareholders, Nissan.

Yokohama F. Marinos

Montevideo City Torque (Uruguay)

Montevideo City Torque was founded on December 26, 2007, as Club Atlético Torque. The club’s name was changed in 2020 after it was purchased by the City Football Group (CFG) in April 2017.

Montevideo City Torque

Sichuan Jiuniu FC (China)

Sichuan Jiuniu FC was founded in 2006. In February 2019, City Football Group purchased the club.

Lommel SK (Belgium)

Lommel SK was founded in 2003. In May 2020, City Football Group had purchased the club.


Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here