Here Are All The Golden Shoe Winners Since 2000

The Golden Shoe award (image via Marca)

Lazio striker Ciro Immobile won the 2019/20 Golden Shoe award after an imperresive goalscoring season in the Serie A.

Immobile finished the season with 36 goals. He scored 11 more goals than Messi, 5 more goals than Ronaldo and 2 mores goal than Lewandowski, who ended their season with 25, 31 and 34 goals respectively.

Ciro Immobile – 2019/20 Golden Shoe award winner

What is the Golden Shoe?

The Golden Shoe (sometimes referred to as the European Golden Boot) is an award that is given to the player who finishes the season as the leading league scorer of all of Europe’s top-flight leagues.

The award was first introduced for the 1967-68 season by French football magazine L’Equipe – who called the award the Soulier d’Or, which translates to ‘Golden Shoe’.

European Sports Media (ESM) took over the responsibility for awarding the Golden Shoe since the 1996-97 seaosn.

Criteria for awarding the Golden Shoe

Since ESM took over the running of the Golden Shoe award in 1996-97, a points system based on league strength has been utilised in order to determine the top scorer.

UEFA’s coefficient is the yardstick for points weighting and the idea behind it is to reward players who score goals in leagues that are considered to be of a higher standard – thus more difficult to score in.

Goals scored in the continent’s top five leagues are multiplied by a factor of two, those scored in the leagues six to 21 are multiplied by a factor of 1.5 and the remaining leagues by a factor of one.

The top five European leagues are: the Premier League, La Liga, Serie A, the Bundesliga and Ligue 1.

Winner of the first Golden Shoe in 1968

The winner of the first Golden Shoe award was Portuguese star Eusébio. Eusébio scored 43 goals for Benfica in 1968 Primeira Liga season. Eusébio received the Golden Boot award again later in 1973 when he scored 40 goals.

Below are winners of the Golden Show since 2000

2020Ciro ImmobileLazioSerie A3672
2019Lionel MessiBarcelonaLa Liga3672
2018Lionel MessiBarcelonaLa Liga3468
2017Lionel MessiBarcelonaLa Liga 3774
2016Luis SuarezBarcelonaLa Liga 4080
2015Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridLa Liga4896
2014Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridLa Liga3162
2013Lionel MessiBarcelonaLa Liga4692
2012Lionel Messi BarcelonaLa Liga50100
2011Cristiano Ronaldo Real MadridLa Liga4080
2010Lionel Messi BarcelonaLa Liga3468
2009Diego Forlán Athletico MadridLa Liga3264
2008Cristiano RonaldoManchester UnitedPremier League3162
2007Francesco TottiRomaSerie A2652
2006Luca ToniFiorentinaSerie A3162
2005Thierry HenryArsenalPremier League2550
2004Thierry Henry ArsenalPremier League3060
2003Roy MakaayDeportivoLa Liga2958
2002Mário JardelSportingLiga4284
2001Henrik Larsson CelticPremier League3570
2000Kevin Phillips SunderlandPremier League3070
Table showing the winners of the Golden Show award since the year 2000

Other footballers who won the award prior to 2000 are Gerd Muller, Hugo Sanchez, Marco van Basten, Ian Rush and Hristo Stoichkov, Ronaldo, Nikos Machlas and Mario Jardel.


Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here