Maurice Adjetey, Anthony Kwavah & Jerry Agbem Win Samira Bawumia Literature Prize

Photo of Samira Bawumia from Facebook

Samira Bawumia, the Second Lady of Ghana, has announced the winners of the first ever Samira Bawumia Literature Prize.

The award scheme was set up by the Second Lady to encourage and celebrate young people who pick up the art of writing.

The prize had three main categories – Non-Fiction, Short Fiction and Poetry.

In a video, Samira Bawumia announced the winners of each category including the first and second runner ups.

Maurice Djojo Adjety, Grace Mensah-Fosu and Lawrence Neequaye were the winner, first and second runner ups of the Non Fiction category, respectively.

Anthony Morrison Kwavah won the Short Fiction category with Karen Donkor and Joel Afful coming in second and third place.

In the Poetry category, Jerry Agyekum’s poem was adjudged as the best while Benjamin Arthur and Henney Kyereh also came in second and third place, respectively.

The winners of each category will receive GHS 5,000 and a laptop while the second and third-placed winners will also receive GHS 3,000 and GHS 2,000, respectively.

According to Samira Bawumia, the prize received thousands of entries.


Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here