If you’ve never tried to delete one of your social media accounts, I can promise you that you are not going to believe how difficult the process is. I mean, the sign-up is so easy. In fact, it only takes a couple of minutes, but when you want to leave, that’s a whole different issue. It’s like trying to get away from an ex; it’s a long and messy process. But don’t worry, we’ve got you. Here is how to permanently delete your account from Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat or TikTok.
Deleting Your Facebook Account
You can follow the steps in the video above to delete or deactivate your Facebook account. The steps are also listed below.
- Go into your settings,
- Click Settings and Privacy,
- Then click on ‘Your Facebook Information‘
- After that click on Deactivation and Deletion
Now, deactivation and deletion mean two different things. When you deactivate your account, you are just hiding your information from searches and friends. Your account is still there, but no one can see it. When you log back in, things go back to normal.
Deletion means that you are permanently removing your account from the site. Even with this, it takes a few days for your account to be deleted. And if you log in during that time … well, your account just won’t delete. You can’t get away from Facebook that easily.
Deleting Your Instagram Account
The steps in the video above show how to temporarily disable your account; which means people won’t find your profile. However, if you want to permanently delete the app, follow the steps below.
- Enter this URL into your browser https://instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent
- Once you’re on that page, enter your password and click Permanently Delete My Account.
Deleting Your Twitter Account
When you deactivate your account, your data isn’t deleted for 30. Within that period, you can get your account back if you want. Once that period is your data is deleted.
- Log in to your Twitter, and go into your account settings,
- Scroll to the bottom and click Deactivate My Account
- After that, you’ll receive a password prompt to begin the account deletion process
However, if you want to save your account data first, you can do that by;
- Logging in to Twitter,
- Clicking on Account,
- Then Your Twitter Data,
- From there you enter your password and download all your twitter data
Deleting Your Snapchat Account
This one is actually pretty easy to delete. All you have to do is;
- Got to the Snapchat Accounts Portal,
- Enter your username and password
- And that ‘s it
The account will be deactivated for 30 days, and then permanently deleted after that.
Deleting Your TikTok Account
- Go into your app,
- Click on the Me section on the bottom right,
- Then click Manage My Account,
- After that, you can choose Delete My Account
- Just follow the prompts from there and you’re done.
It shouldn’t be this hard to delete your own social media account. Sheesh … talk about clingy. BTW, Bandicam is a great application for screen recording on Windows, if you ever need something like that.