Today In History: On April 29, 1958 Ghana -Guinea-Mali Union Was Formed

The Union of African States was a short lived alliance formed in 1959 between the newly independent Mali, Ghana, and Guinea. Leaders from left to right: Modibo Keita, Kwame Nkrumah, and Ahmed Sekou Toure.

The Union of African States (French: Union des Etats africains), sometimes called the Ghana-Guinea-Mali Union, was a short-lived and loose regional organization formed 1958 linking the West African nations of Ghana and Guinea as the Union of Independent African States. Mali joined in 1960. It disbanded in 1963.

The union planned to develop a common currency and unified foreign policy amongst members; however, none of these proposals were implemented by the countries.

The union was the first organization in Africa to bring together former colonies of the British and the French. Although the union was open to all independent states in Africa, no other states joined.

The union had a limited impact on politics as there was never any administration or permanent meetings to support the goals of unity. Its legacy was largely limited to longstanding political relationships between Kwame Nkrumah (President and Prime Minister of Ghana 1957–1966), Ahmed Sékou Touré (President of Guinea 1958–1984), and Modibo Keïta (President of Mali 1960–1968).

The union again came into the news when Nkrumah was named as the co-president of Guinea after he was deposed as President of Ghana by a military coup in 1966.

Source: eaumf

Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here