Here Are The Areas Affected By The Lockdown Imposed By President Akufo Addo

Accra. Photo credit: Yaw Pare

President Akufo-Addo has announced the lockdown of some parts of Accra, Tema and Kumasi. The President stated that the lockdown will be subject to review when the need arises. This is to help curb the spread of Coronavirus.

The lockdown of these areas will take effect on Monday, 30th March, 2020 at 1 am under the Imposition of Restrictions Act, 2020 (Act 1012), there will be restrictions on the movement of persons in the Greater Accra Metropolitan Area (GAMA, which include Awutu Senya East ), and the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts, for a period of two (2) weeks.

These Areas in the Greater Accra Region are subject to the lockdown:

  • Accra Metropolis
    -Tema Metropolis
    -Tema West
    -Kpone Katamanso
  • Ashiaman
    -Okaikwei North
    -Ablekuma North
    -Ablekuma West
    -Ablekuma Central
    -Ayawaso East
    -Ayawaso North
    -Ayawaso West
    -Ayawaso Central
    -Ga North
    -Ga West
    -Ga South
    -Ga Central
    -Ga East
    -Awutu Senya East

3.In the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area the following areas are affected:

  • Kumasi Metropolis;
  • Asokwa
  • Suame
    -Old Tafo
    -Asokore Mampong
    -Atwima Nwabiagya
    -Kwabre East
    -Afigya-Kwabre South
    -Atwima Kwanwoma
    -Atwima Nwabiagya North

This means that everyone resident in these areas must stay at home for the next two weeks or 14 days, However, if you must go out, it must only be to get essential items such as food, water, medicine, undertake banking transactions, or to use public toilet facilities. But, as much as possible, stay at home.


Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here