Coronavirus: African Countries That Have Imposed Travel Restrictions

African countries that have imposed travel bans (MOTIVE56/SHUTTERSTOCK)

Increasing numbers of African countries are confirming coronavirus cases, prompting many to announce measures to control the spread of the virus. Ghana recently imposed a travel ban on foreigners from countries with more than 200 cases.

Ghana, however, is not the only African country that has issued a travel ban.

Below are countries that have imposed travel bans:


Ghana on Sunday, March 15, 2020, placed a ban on entry of foreign visitors from countries badly impacted by the virus.

South Africa

South Africa declared a state of disaster, closing its borders to foreign nationals from countries badly impacted by the disease. The ban includes China, Iran, Italy, Spain, the UK and the US.


Kenya has also imposed sweeping travel restrictions, blocking entry to all travellers coming from countries with reported cases. On Sunday, March 15, 2020, the government confirmed two more cases of coronavirus, taking the total number to three.


Djibouti has not confirmed any case yet but has suspended all international flights.


Morocco has also suspended all international flights from its airports. The North African state has 28 confirmed cases, including one death.


Libya also announced the closure of its airspace and land borders as a preventative measure starting from today, March 16, 2020.


Algeria which has 48 coronavirus cases announced the nation would be suspending all flights to France from Tuesday, March 17, 2020.


The Prime Minister of Tunisia Elyes Fakhfakh has ordered the closure of all borders and a ban on large gatherings, including congregation prayers in mosques. The country has confirmed 20 cases of the virus so far.


The President of Mozambique, Filipe Nyusi has suspended all gatherings of 300 people or more. He has also suspended all foreign travel by state officials – including his own visits to Equatorial Guinea and Palestinian territories that were scheduled for later this month.

The virus is now confirmed to be present in at least 26 nations across the continent.

See Also:

African Countries That Have Confirmed Coronavirus Cases

Coronavirus: How To Protect Your Mental Health

source: BBC/

Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here