2020 UPAC: Check Out The Schools That Will Participate In This Year’s Championship

University of Ghana, 4-time UPAC Basketball Championship winners

The 2020 Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges (UPAC) Basketball Championship has been launched at the De’lish Restaurant in Accra on March 4, 2020.

This year’s edition is the 7th time the basketball games will be happening in Ghana.

The UPAC Basketball Championship includes participants from all three sectors of tertiary education – Public Universities, Technical Universities, and Private Universities.

This year’s event will see 32 institutions in the country grouped into eight zones who will compete for slots at the national championship level which will be staged from 16th-18th April 2020.

The 2020 edition will see the Ghana Institute of Journalism (GIJ) will be making their first appearance in the UPAC since its inception.

According to the Head of Rite Sports, Yaw Sakyi Afari, the inclusion of GIJ is to test their level in basketball after they made their debut in the Ghana University Students Association (GUSA) games.

The University of Ghana are the reigning champions and are the most successful team, winning the last four editions spanning from 2016-2019. Accra Technical University is the next most successful team, winning the other two since its inception.

Speaking at the press conference, Yaw Sakyi Afari expressed his joy and added that he anticipates a very competitive tournament this year which will see a lot of tertiary students exhibit their talents in basketball.

Yaw Sakyi also assured that security will be intensified to make sure the tournament is devoid of violence.

Here is the list of the 32 participating institutions:

University of Ghana (UG).

Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST).

Accra Technical University (ATU).

Radford University College.

All Nations University College.

Wisconsin International University College.

Koforidua Technical University (KTU).

University of Cape Coast (UCC).

Takoradi Technical University (TTU)

Ghana Institute of Management and Public Administration (GIMPA).

KAAF University College.

University of Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA).

Pentecost University College (PUC).

University of Education, Winneba (UEW).

University of Mines and Technology (UMAT)

Sunyani Technical University.

Kintampo College of Health.

Catholic University College.

University of Energy and Natural Resources.

Kumasi Technical University.

Garden City University College.

Christian Services University College.

Ho Technical University.

Methodist University College.

Valley View University (VVU).

Ghana Institute of Journalism (GIJ).

Islamic University College.

Ghana Technology University College.

Kings University College.

Regent University College.

Central University College.

Regional Maritime University.

See Also:

Ketabusco Banned Indefinitely From Sprite Ball Championship

#IstandwithGerald: Photos Of The Fundraising Event At The University Of Ghana

source: citi sports

Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here