Joao Felix Wins 2019 Golden Boy Award


Atletico Madrid youngster Joao Felix has been named the 2019 Golden Boy, rounding off a remarkable breakthrough season.

The 20-year-old burst onto the scene for Benfica last season after coming through the club’s academy ranks, before signing a seven-year contract with Atletico Madrid in a deal reported to be worth in the region of €126m.

The Portuguese wonderkid will be presented with his journalist-voted award on Monday 16 December in Turin, having seen off competition from the likes of Jadon Sancho and Kai Havertz.

News of Felix’s award comes via organisers ​Tuttosport, with his victory announced in front of 200 guests at a gala ceremony held in Rome.

Felix succeeds 2018 winner Matthijs de Ligt, whose sensational performances for Ajax eventually earned him a summer move to Juventus. He is understood to have accrued 332 points from the voting panel, made up of 40 sports journalists, comfortably beating Sancho (175) and Havertz (75) into second and third place respectively.

Joao Felix
credit: 90min

Felix himself sent a short video statement to those in attendance, thanking Tuttosport for the award, as well as Benfica for all that they did for him during his meteoric rise to stardom.

“Thanks to Tuttosport for the Golden Boy Award 2019, I am very proud,” Felix said. “It is the second time that a player from Atletico Madrid has won this award and I am happy. Thanks also to Benfica, in particular to coach Bruno Lage for all he has done for me and my family that is always close to me. A hug”.

Red Bull Salzburg striker Erling Haland came fourth after earning 74 points, with De Ligt finishing fifth.

Phil Foden finished seventh, despite his lack of appearances for Manchester City, while Chelsea’s Mason Mount finished 11th. Ansu Fati, Gianluigi Donnarumma, Nicolo Zaniolo and Donyell Malen were the other players to round out the top ten.

See Also:

Here Are 5 Ballon d’Or Winners You’ve Probably Never Heard Of

These African Footballers Have Been Shortlisted For The 2019 Ballon d’Or Award

source: 90min

Click on the comment box below and leave us your thoughts. Thank you.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here