Here Are All The Institutions That Have Been Renamed By The Nana Akufo-Addo Led Administration

Nana Akufo-Addo

The decision by President Nana Akufo-Addo to rename the University of Energy and Natural Resources after K.A Busia sparked a lot of conversation over the weekend. The President announced at the 4th congregation that the university will be renamed after the former Prime Minister of Ghana which was a decision taken by the university’s council.

In April 2019, a draft bill was sent to parliament for approval to rename four public universities after four illustrious sons of the nation.

See Also: Four Public Universities To Be Renamed In New Draft Bill

The University of Health and Allied Sciences is to be renamed after K.A Gbedemah and the University of Energy, Natural Resources be known as Kofi Abrefa Busia University of Energy and Natural Resources.

The University of Development Studies was also to be renamed after former President, Jerry John Rawlings, but the former president declined the offer.

See Also: The Case Of Rawlings Park, Rawlings Circle Vs UDS: Is The Former President Being Hypocritical?

There were also reports that the University of Ghana was going to be renamed after J.B Danquah.

In light of all these, we decided to put together  a list of all the institutions and infrastructure that have been renamed during President Nana Akufo-Addo’s regime:

Flagstaff House Renamed To Jubilee House


Image result for jubilee house

We will start off with the seat of government. The president, Nana Akufo-Addo on March 2018, renamed the seat of the Presidency from Flagstaff House to Jubilee House.

A statement signed by President Nana Akufo-Addo and released on March 29, 2018, read: “NOW, THEREFORE, in exercise of the power conferred on the President under article 58 of the constitution, I, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, President of the Republic, give notice that the seat of the Presidency of Ghana shall, hereafter, be named, known and referred to as Jubilee House, shall be preserved and commemorated as such.”

Flagstaff House change 1

Tamale Sports Stadium Renamed after Aliu Mahama

Image result for aliu mahama sports stadium

In 2017, President Nana Akufo-Addo renamed the Tamale Sports Stadium, the Aliu Mahama Sports Stadium, in honour of the former Vice President, the late Aliu Mahama. The renaming of the sports stadium was part of the 5th-anniversary celebration of his passing.

University of Mines and Technology Renamed after George Grant

Image result for george grant university of mines and technology

In January 2018, President Nana Akufo-Addo renamed the University of Mines and Technology (UMaT) to the George Grant University of Mines and Technology, after the first President of the United Gold Coast Convention (UGCC), George Grant, during a special congregation held at the university to install former President John Agyekum Kufuor as it’s Chancellor.

The University of Professional Studies Renamed after Nana Opoku Ampomah

Image result for Nana Opoku Ampomah university of professional studies

In April 2018, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo approved the decision of the governing council of the University of Professional Studies (UPSA) to rename the university after its founder, Nana Opoku Ampomah.

The President made the announcement at the fourth special congregation of the university held to confer honourary doctorate degrees on Nana Opoku Ampomah and the President of the Confederation of African Football (CAF), Mr Ahmad Ahmad.

University of Development Studies, Wa Campus Renamed after S.D. Dombo

Image result for S.D Dombo University of Business and Integrated Development Studies

The UDS, Wa Campus, also known as the University for Business and Integrated Development Studies was renamed the S.D Dombo University of Business and Integrated Development Studies.

Simon Diedong Dombo, was a Ghanaian politician, teacher and king who belonged to the United Party (UP) tradition, of which the New Patriotic Party has its roots.

The University of Energy and Natural Resources (UENR) Renamed after Dr Kofi Abrefa Busia

Related image

This is the most recent one…

Nana Akufo-Addo at the 4th Congregation of the University of Energy and Natural Resources on August 10, 2019, announced that the university will be renamed after the late Prime Minister of the Second Republic, Dr Kofi Abrefa Busia. The university will now be known as the K.A Busia University of Energy and Natural Resources.

“Following the decision taken by the University’s Council on August 3, 2018, the university will be named after one of the illustrious sons of the region, Professor K.A Busia after the decision had received Parliamentary approval,” President Nana Akufo-Addo stated.

Well… what do y’all think?

If you have a story you want to share with Kuulpeeps and the world, please do hit us up on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here