32 Years Ago Today Azumah Nelson Won One Of His Career Making Fights. Then A Pack Of GH Boxers Followed In His Footsteps

Ghana is one of the most respected nations when it comes to the world of boxing. In Africa, Ghana tops all the other countries on the continent with the most world champions. Yeah! Ghana currently has nine world champions in different weight classes. The country has produced a lot of great boxers including D.K Poison, Azumah Nelson, Ike Quartey, Joseph Agbeko and Isaac Dogboe.

On this day (March 7) in 1987, the boxing “Professor”, Azumah Nelson retained the WBC World Featherweight Title.

He fought Mexican boxer, Mauro Gutierrez at the Hilton Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada on 7th March 1987. The bout didn’t last all the 12 rounds as Azumah Nelson knocked out Mauro Gutierrez in the 6th round to retain the title.

After this bout, Azumah Nelson went on to defend the WBC World Featherweight title for the last time before leaving the featherweight division to fight in the Super Featherweight division.

Azumah Nelson won his first world title in 1984 after defeating Puerto Rican boxer Wilfredo Gomez at the Hiram Bithron Stadium in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Azumah knocked out Gomez in the 11th round to win the WBC World Featherweight title.

Azumah Nelson’s first world title was Ghana’s second world title after legendary Ghanaian boxer, D.K Poison won Ghana’s first title in 1975.

David Kotey (D.K Poison)

D.K Poison beat Ruben Olivares in The Forum, Inglewood, California in the United States on 20 September 1975 by split points decision after 15 rounds to become Ghana’s first world boxing champion.

These two legends paved the way for more Ghanaian world champions. The likes of Nana Yaw Konadu, Ike Quartey, Alfred Kotey, Joseph Agbeko, Joshua Clottey, Isaac Dogboe and Richard Commey followed in the footsteps of D.K Poison and Azumah Nelson.

Nana Yaw Konadu

Nana Yaw Konadu became Ghana’s third world boxing champion in 1989 after he beat Gilberto Roman on November 7 in Mexico to win the WBC Super Flyweight title.

Ike Quartey

Ike Quartey also made Ghana proud on 4th June 1994 when he knocked out Crisanto Espana in the 11th round to win the WBA World Welterweight title.

Alfred Kotey

A month after Ike Quartey won his first world title, Alfred Kotey became Ghana’s 5th world boxing champion after he beat Rafael Del Valle to lift the WBO Bantamweight title on July 30.

Joseph Agbeko

After Alfred Kotey, Ghana did not have a new world boxing champion until 2007 when Joseph Agbeko knocked out Luiz Alberto Perez in the 7th round to win the IBF World Bantamweight title.

Joshua Clottey

It didn’t take long for Ghana to have a new world boxing champion after Joseph Agbeko won a world title in 2007. Joshua Clottey became Ghana’s 7th world boxing champion on 2nd August 2008 after he beat Zab Judah to win the IBF World Welterweight title.

Isaac Dogboe

Ghana went through another world boxing champion drought after Joshua Clottey. In 2018 Ghana had it’s eighth and youngest world boxing champion in Isaac Dogboe. Isaac Dogboe knocked out Jessie Magdaleno in the 11th round to capture the WBO Junior Featherweight title on 28th April 2018.

Richard Commey

Richard Commey became Ghana’s 9th world boxing champion on 2nd February 2019 after he beat Russia’s Isa Chaniev in two rounds to by a technical knockout at the Ford Centre in Frisco Texas.

Great work by these Champions. They have really made Ghana proud. We hope to get our 10th world boxing champion soon!

If you have a story you want to share with Kuulpeeps and the world, please do hit us up on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here