Here’s All You Need To Know About The Newly Created Bono East Region


The Bono East Region was carved out of the existing Brong Ahafo Region, after the natives of the region voted 99.5% in favour of the creation of the region in a referendum vote which was held on 27 December 2018.

See Also: Did You Know That The Mole National Park Can Now Be Found In The Newly Created Savannah Region? Read To Know More About This New Region

President Nana Akufo-Addo presented the Constitutional Instrument backing the creation of the region on Wednesday, February 13, 2019, at the Jubilee House. At the ceremony, the president also selected Techiman as the capital of the region.

Nana Akufo-Addo Names Techiman As The Capital Of The Bono East Region


The region consists of eleven districts. Below are the districts with their respective capitals in brackets:

Techiman Municipality

Techiman North District

Atebubu-Amantin Municipality

Kintampo North Municipality

Kintampo South District

Nkoranza North District

Nkoranza South District

Pru West District

Pru East District

Sene West District

Sene East District


The population of the North East Region is approximately 1,179,649 and the region covers an area size of 22,220 km2.

If you have a story you want to share with Kuulpeeps and the world, please do hit us up on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here