Facts And Figures: Here Are Interesting Things You Need To Know About The Ahafo Region

The Ahafo Region is one of the 6 newly created regions which was carved out of the existing Brong Ahafo Region.

A referendum vote was held on 27 December 2018 and the natives of the region voted 99.68% in favour of the creation of the region.

See Also: Here’s All You Need To Know About The Newly Created Bono East Region

The Constitutional Instrument backing the creation of the region was presented to the chiefs of the region by Nana Akufo-Addo on Wednesday, February 13, 2019, at the Jubilee House. The president also chose Goaso as the capital of the region.

See Also: Nana Akufo-Addo Selects Goaso As The Capital Of The Ahafo Region


The Ahafo Region is made up of 6 districts. Below are the districts:

Asunafo North Municipality

Asunafo South District

Tano North Municipality

Tano South Municipality

Asutifi North District

Asutifi South District


The population of the North East Region is approximately 599,852 and the region covers an area size of 5,193 km2.

If you have a story you want to share with Kuulpeeps and the world, please do hit us up on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here