Ashesi: Final Nominee List For Ubora 2018


Hello Ashesians,

Tis the season of the Ubora Excellence Awards.

For the observant peeps on campus, there has been a mini-exhibition of the finalists for the Ubora Awards on a white standing board. The exhibition started on Thursday the 8th and continued through till Friday the 9th of November.  If you haven’t seen the nominees the board is still on display.

This year the awards were done a bit differently with an Ubora Awards Committee set-up to curate the entire process to get us closer to the goal of awarding truly excellent members of our community.

Find below the list of finalists for each award category at Ubora.

Community Engagement Award

To a student or student group that has, in the past year demonstrated a commitment to serving others outside the Ashesi Community.

  • Ashesi Leo Club
  • Bowney Initiative
  • Future of Africa
  • Tech Era Ghana

Innovation in Action    

To a student who uses their knowledge in technology to improve the lives of others and create an impact beyond the classroom.

  • David Sasu
  • Oswald Gyabaah
  • Kevin Deyoungster
  • Eugene Jamu

Rising Star 

To a freshman or sophomore who has demonstrated initiative, drive, and leadership and is committed to making an impact here at Ashesi.

  • Edem Yegbe
  • Samuelle Asante
  • Desmond Mensa
  • Derek Minta-Jacobs, David Effah, Elikem Asamoah

Most Outstanding Faculty      

To the faculty member who has expanded the horizons, skills, and value systems of Ashesi students by providing support and guidance both inside and outside of the classroom.

  • Dennis Owusu
  •  Eric Ocran
  •  Patrick Dwomfuor
  •  Ayawoa Dagbovie

Most Outstanding Faculty Intern

To the Faculty Intern, who has demonstrated a continual commitment to the pillars of Ashesi with an evident belief in the need to enhance student life in a positive way.

  • Constant Likudie
  • Daniel Bempah
  • Loretta Adarkwah
  • Pearl Anang

Star Image

To a student that upholds values of presentability and decorum in appearance, speech, and interactions

  • Herman Duse
  • Nii Quarcoopome
  •  Odette Ofosu-Siaw
  •  Nana Obeng Marnu

Sportsman of the Year 

To a male student who has shown a keen interest in sports and is committed to improving and participating in sports at Ashesi.

  • Kennedy Mintah
  • Nana Adum Djan
  • Seyram Kartey
  • Mustapha Yussif

Sportswoman of the Year

To a female student who has shown a keen interest in sports and is committed to improving and participating in sports at Ashesi.

  • Marilyn Hammond
  •  Kalysa Owusu
  •  Hannah Lormenyo
  •  Nana Ama Ayenor

Student Excellence Award

To a student who exemplifies all three pillars of Ashesi (Scholarship, Leadership, and Citizenship)

  • Zoe Tagboto
  •  David Sasu
  •  Eugene Jamu
  •  Immanuella Duke

Entrepreneurial Spirit Award

To a student or student group who exemplifies the ideals of entrepreneurship and puts business to practice to sustainably solve problems in society.

  • David Boanuh
  • Ezekiel Hormeku
  • Mohamed Hijazi
  • Joseph Awuah-Darko
  • Kelvin Degbotse
  • Dejoie Ifashabayo

Congratulations to the finalists! The time for voting will be communicated soon.

Congratulations Congrats GIF by Goldfish - Find & Share on GIPHY

If you have a story you want to share with Kuulpeeps and the world, please do hit us up on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here