Messi Excluded From Leaked FIFA’s Best Men’s Player Final Shortlist

Lionel Messi has been excluded from the podium of the top prize at FIFA’s The Best awards after the final shortlists were leaked.

The Best Men’s Player will not be won by the Barcelona player this year, despite a magnificent season for the Blaugrana. Failure to land the Champions League or advance to the latter stages of the World Cup with Argentina has proved decisive.

Instead, the award will be won by one of the following, in a list leaked by Sport: Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Antoine Griezmann.

The Croatian has already won best player at last week’s Champions League awards, which infuriated Ronaldo enough that the Juventus star failed to turn up to the awards.

Messi was part of the initial top 10 nominees, with Kevin De Bruyne, Raphael Varane, Mohamed Salah, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane and Kylian Mbappe all set to join him in failing to make the cut.

Final shortlists

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo – Juventus

Antoine Griezmann – Atletico Madrid

Luka Modric – Real Madrid

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

Thibaut Courtois – Real Madrid

Hugo Lloris – Tottenham

Kasper Schmeichel – Leicester City

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Zlatko Dalic – Croatia

Didier Deschamps – France

Zinedine Zidane – Real Madrid

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

Reynald Pedros – France

Asako Takakura – Japan

Sarina Wiegman – The Netherlands


If you have a story you want to share with Kuulpeeps and the world, please do hit us up on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here