Here Are Some Facts About Achimota You Should Know

This month, you’ll be reading a lot of Achimota stories from us. We are celebrating the school and all the people who have attended this school.

Just in case you are one of those an Akora who just passed through the school without taking time to actually learn about Achimota, here is the history class you never attended:

Achimota School was founded in 1927

The school was founded in by Sir Frederick Gordon Guggisberg, Dr. James Emman Kwegyir Aggrey and the Rev. Alexander (Alec) Garden Fraser.

It was first called the Prince of Wales College

The school was set up to provide education and character training that would equip those who would attend it, for the needs of the nation.

Construction of the College started in 1924 with a Government Budgetary Grant of £600,000 and a subsequent annual allocation of £48,000.

The first intake of six children into the Kindergarten was in 1926

In 1929, the Secondary and University Departments were formally opened.

The School and Post Secondary Departments were separated in 1945.

The school currently has a population of 2975 students.

The motto of the school is Ut Omnes Unum Sint meaning “That all may be one”

Achimota School has seventeen male and female houses on its Eastern and Western Campuses

Since its establishment, the school has had 16 heads

Old students are called Akoras

It has won the National Science and Maths Quiz on two occasions.

The current headmistress is Mrs. Joyce R. Addo

Achimota Headmistress

The school has 82 teachers and 137 nonteaching staff

Dr. James Aggrey was its first Vice-Principal

Aggrey House was the first house.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here