Facts You Should Know About The Euro 2016 Tournament

The draw for Euro 2016 takes places tomorrow in France. Here are some interesting facts about Europe’s biggest International Tourney.

This year’s tourney would be the 15th edition of the UEFA EURO Competition.

The tourney is hosted by the French for the third time after hosting it in the inaugural year back in 1960 and 1984.

The winner of the tourney earns the right to represent UEFA at the Confederations cup in Russia, 2017.

Austria qualified for the second time after qualifying as host back in 2008.

Albania, Iceland, Northern Ireland, Wales and Slovakia are entering the 15th edition of the tourney for the first time.

England is the only team to record a flawless qualifying campaign; 10 wins in 10 qualifying matches.

Defending champions, Spain and Germany qualified to play in the tourney for the 12th straight time.

Spain is the only nation to win and defend the trophy after winning it in 2008 and 2012.

The tourney for the first time would have 24 teams in the group stages instead of the previous number of 16.

For the first time in the tourney, the four best third placed team would make it to the knockout stage; another feat since this is the first tourney which includes that stage of the competition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here