Judicial Council Sacks 21 Lower Court Judges Implicated In Anas’ Exposé

Anas judges sacked

Anas judges sacked

The Judicial Council has sacked twenty  out of the 21 lower court judges who were indicted in the recent bribery and corruption  exposé by  investigative journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

Some of the judges who were removed from office were given  their end of service pay whiles others were not paid. Here is the list of the sacked judges.

Those Removed From Office Without Benefits

  1. His Honour Benjamin Y. Osei – Circuit Court, Juaben
  2. 2. Her Honour Florence Otoo Ninepence – Circuit Court, Tema
  3. His Honour Isaac B. Akwantey  – Circuit Court , Wa
  4. His Honour Alex Obeng Asante – Circuit Court, Tarkwa
  5. His Honour Emmanuel K. Sunu – Circuit Court, Bolgatanga
  6. His Honour Baptist Kwadwo Filson  – Circuit Court, Bibiani
  7. His Honour Emmanuel Opare – Circuit Court , Techiman
  8. His Worship Samuel Ahiabor – District Court, Adidome
  9. His Worship William Baffoe – District Court , Cape Coast
  10. His Worship Michael Boamah Gyamfi – District Court, Mampongteng
  11. His Worship Jacob Amponsah – District Court, Ejisu
  12. His Worship Frank Kingley Oppong – District Court, Kasoa
  13. His Worship Samuel Esselwalker – District Court, Bolgatanga
  14. His Worship Alfred K. A Mensah – District Court, Somanya


Those Removed From Office With Benefits

15. His Honour Seyram Tsatsu Azumah – Circuit Court, Akropong

16. His Worship Paul K. Alhassan – District Court, Agona

17. His Worship Albert Zoogah – District Court, Ashiaman

18. His Worship Courage Ofori Afriyie – District Court, Offinso

According to the Council, one of judges was mistakenly added to the list so he was not punished. This brought the number to 21. Also, two missing names have been withheld because according to the Judicial Council, their lawyers have not been informed about the decision yet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here